Set Dressing on the Day

16507958_10208467154977759_5096079873610119651_n

Here is a look at the supermarket set dressing the occurred on the day of filming. As you can see, I have achieved the goal of making the supermarket look messy and over the top to match the comedic aspects of the script, and I also feel it gives the film a strong styling. The blood most certainly helps this. The aim was to trash the store but make it look real but stylised, and I feel I managed to succeed in doing that.

The office also worked well. There was a lot going on in the background, which helps the camera department have interesting visuals and makes the whole thing feel authentic. I used what was in the supermarket and added upon that, due to that helping reduce the budget and also its more convenient for time schedules to build upon what is already there, otherwise I’d have to fill an entire warehouse which there was no time for. I like the aesthetic of the warehouse, it is the place they spend the most time and I feel it holds up well to the script and its beat.

Screenshot (379).png

Here is the shot of the Plain Jane dolls I added into the set to drop hints at who is the killer. I wanted it to feel like it belongs on the shop floor, so it couldn’t be just randomly placed or placed in a weird way. The goal was for it to be subtle, but the lighting and framing means it cannot be seen well.

For the office, I placed the Ez Mart custom stationary on the desk and around the room. I added in plants to make the scene look more interesting, but also show how Valerie is lonely only has her plants to look after. The plants are dull too, further hinting at her personality. I added in adhesive green stripes onto the wall the break up the boring pale white walls and give it some vibrancy.

Leave a Reply

